torsdag 9 november 2017

CFP: Computing within Limits 2018 (conference)

.


We are organizing the fourth Computing within Limits workshop in May 2018 and you too should consider attending it not the least since it's co-located with the fifth ICT for Sustainability (ICT4S) conference and you get two conferences for the time of one.

Limits will be held on May 12-13 in Toronto, Canada and it will immediately be followed by ICT4S on May 14-18. Full disclosure: the ICT4S general chair (Steve Easterbrook) and the program chair (Birgit Penzenstadler) are both part of the Limits program committee. The deadline for submitting papers to the ICT4S conference is coming up but you have plenty of time (three months) until the Computing within Limits February 9 deadline for submitting full papers. Computing within Limits is a quite central venue for me personally as it is possible for me to write papers to Limits that are hard-hitting and might have a much harder time getting accepted to other venues. I have altogether presented no less than six paper (1 + 3 +2) at the previous three workshops. I have also come to think of Limits as a place where you can work on, present, try out and discuss (great) ideas that are later developed in other papers and at other venues.

I would be extremely surprised if the fourth Limits workshop would not have significantly more participants that the earlier three. It might also be the case that Limits will pull people to the fifth ICT4S conference which, after all, will be held in North America for the very first time. I also hope that me and Elina did our bit to entice and convince some ICT4S people to attend also Limits by holding a well-attended Limits-themed workshop called "Visions of computing beyond Moore’s law" at the previous (Amsterdam 2016) ICT4S conference. Here is the short call for papers for the upcoming Computing within Limits workshop (for more information go to the Computing within Limits 2018 homepage):


ABOUT ACM LIMITS 2018

The ACM LIMITS workshop aims to foster discussion on the impact of present and future ecological, material, energetic, and societal limits on computing. These topics are seldom discussed in contemporary computing research. A key aim of the workshop is to promote innovative, concrete research, potentially of an interdisciplinary nature, that focuses on technologies, critiques, techniques, and contexts for computing within fundamental economic and ecological limits. A longer-term goal is to build a community around relevant topics and research. We hope to impact society through the design and development of computing systems in the abundant present for use in a future of limits. This year we are colocating for the first time with ICT4S.

PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Oliver Bates, Lancaster University, o.bates@lancaster.ac.uk
Eli Blevis, Indiana University, eblevis@indiana.edu
Jay Chen, NYU, jay.chen@nyu.edu (co-chair)
Steve Easterbrook, University of Toronto, sme@cs.toronto.edu
Elina Eriksson, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, elina@kth.se
Kurtis Heimerl, University of Washington, kheimerl@cs.washington.edu
Lara Houston, Goldsmiths, University of London, l.houston@gold.ac.uk
Ann Light, University of Sussex, ann.light@sussex.ac.uk
Bonnie Nardi, UC Irvine, nardi@ics.uci.edu (co-chair)
Lisa Nathan, UBC, lisa.nathan@ubc.ca
Teresa Cerratto Pargman, Stockholm University, tessy@dsv.su.se
Daniel Pargman, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, pargman@kth.se
Don Patterson, Westmont College, dpatterson@westmont.edu
Birgit Penzenstadler, bpenzens@gmail.com
Barath Raghavan, ICSI, barath@icsi.berkeley.edu
Christian Remy, University of Zurich, remy@ifi.uzh.ch
Debra Richardson, UC Irvine, djr@ics.uci.edu
Nithya Sambasivan, Google, nithyas@gmail.com
Bill Tomlinson, Victoria University of Wellington, bill.tomlinson@vuw.ac.nz

IMPORTANT DATES

Abstract registration deadline: Feb 2, 2018, 11:59pm Pacific Time
Paper submission deadline: Feb 9, 2018, 11:59pm Pacific Time
Paper reviews available: March 7, 2018LIMITS 2018
Fourth Workshop on Computing within Limits
May 12-13, Toronto, Canada
.

1 kommentar:

  1. My husband and I have been having lots of problems living together, he never gives me attention or makes me happy because he has fallen in love with another woman outside our marriage. I tried my best to make sure that my husband leaves this woman but the more I talk to him about it the more he makes me feel sad and unhappy, My marriage started leading to divorce because he no longer gives me attention. I wanted to forget him but i love him and didn't want to lose him. We have been married for years and he is all I could call a true best friend and best in all, the man that handles my problems perfectly, the man that makes sacrifices for ,my happiness. I wanted him back in my life badly and I was so confused. My Friends told me to buy books about relationships, so I went online for relationship books while I came across a spell caster called Dr Emu. I read testimonies and reviews about him so I contacted him immediately, explained my problems to him. Same day , he casted a spell for me and assured me for 2 days that my husband will return to me and to my greatest surprise the third day my husband came knocking on my door and begged for forgiveness. I am so happy that my love is back again and not only that, we are about to get married again, he proposed. I wouldn't stop talking about him. Contact him today if you need his help via email: emutemple@gmail.com and you will see that your problem will be solved without any delay. Website: https://emutemple.wordpress.com/

    SvaraRadera